After alcohol, marijuana is the drug most commonly linked to impaired driving. It can slow your reaction time and ability to make decisions. The risk of impaired driving associated with marijuana in combination with alcohol appears to be greater than that for either by itself.
Is there a legal limit for Marijuana?
Laws vary from state to state, but in California, it is unlawful to drive while under the influence of marijuana by Vehicle Code 23152. "Under the influence" is not specifically defined in the statute, which means that there is no "safe" amount you can smoke and drive. If you are planning on driving, the safest route is not to smoke at all.
What are the penalties for driving under the influence of marijuana?
As with other forms of DUI, the penalties for VC 23152(e) DUI of marijuana in California increase with each conviction for any form of DUI--including DUI of alcohol and DUI of drugs--within a 10-year period. This chart summarizes the penalties for DUI of marijuana for defendants with different records:
|Type of DUI Marijuana||Jail/Prison Sentence||Fine||Driver's License Suspension or Revocation||DUI School|
|1st offense DUI of marijuana||Up to 6 months in county jail||$390-1000||6 to 10 months (convertible to restricted license)||3 or 9 months|
|2nd offense DUI of marijuana||96 hours to 1 year in county jail||$390-1000||2 years (convertible to restricted license after 12 months)||18 or 30 months|
|3rd offense DUI of marijuana||120 days to 1 year in county jail||$390-1000||3 years (convertible to restricted license after 18 months)||30 months|
|DUI of marijuana with injury (misdemeanor)||5 days to 1 year in county jail||$390-5000, plus restitution to injured parties||1 to 3 years||3, 18 or 30 months|
|DUI of marijuana with injury (felony)||16 months to 16 years in state prison||$1015-5000, plus restitution to injured parties||5 years||18 or 30 months|
|Felony DUI of marijuana||16 months, 2 years or 3 years in state prison||$390-1000||4 years||18 or 30 months|